On a balmy October evening, ChamberSOUTH leadership gathered at the Sonesta Bayfront in Coconut Grove for the 85th Anniversary Chairman Gala, honoring Claudia A. Cancio, Chairman.  Presented by First National Bank of South Miami, guests enjoyed cocktails and hors d’œuvre on the terrace, a fine dinner, skits by actors from the Actor’s Playhouse presentation of “Toxic Avenger,” a silent auction, awards and dancing.

For the annual award ceremony, the Chamber’s Gavel Club (past chairs), co-chaired by Dr. John Gentile and Baptist Health’s Ricardo Forbes, presented awards: the L. Russell Norton Award for Community Service to Wayne Brackin of Baptist Health, and the Steven J. Cranman Award for an elected official’s “above and beyond” service.  State Senator Rene Garcia (District 38) and State Representative Holly Raschein (District 120) were recipients.

Photo by:


About Author

Leave A Reply