Chamber South celebrated a changing of the guard at its 84th Annual Chairman’s Reception on Friday, September 19th at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove.  Sponsored by Baptist Health South Florida, guests enjoyed a lavish array of food, and the opportunity to participate in a silent auction.

Members of the Gavel Club, comprised of the past Chairman of Chamber South

State Senator Dwight Bullard served as emcee and announced the transition from Chair JoAnn Parns to Kent Crook.  Annual awards were also presented to exemplary individuals: The Stephen J. Cramnan Professional Public Service Award in recognition of a public servant who  uses their position to find innovative solutions to benefit the community; The L. Russell Norton Service Award for outstanding service to the community and The Rising Star award presented to an individual from the Chamber’s young professional group, Chamber N-XT, who demonstrates leadership potential and community service.  The awards were presented respectively to: Miami Dade School Superintendent Alberto Carvalho. First National Bank of South Miami’s Veronica B. Flores, and Allison Polk of Chamber N-XT.


About Author

Leave A Reply